Insane Sedimentology!

Tennessees Pride

Normally i am a bit more reserved and professional when describing things here on the Forum, this will be that instance i made the exception. When i said "Insane"..... i mean wicked insane! I'm always on the look out for signs of "the big one" (destruction layers that is). On this thread, i'm gonna be loading pics of a certain Late Cretaceous layer that is probably no more than a couple feet in thickness, but seems in my mind to be sure signs of death and destruction.....full on mayhem! Because i'm still studying this laye to figure out what exactly brought it on, i'm not gonna be saying much about where exactly it is placed in the geological record....if there's some melt-glass, volcanic bombs to be found there, i'd like to be the first to show em to the world. What i'm about to post is a layer of hard sandstone......but this sandstone contains strange things in it! Oh they're strange alright....rip-up clasts made from clay are interbeded in this sandstone layer! Big ones, little ones, the tiny, the med-sized......clasts,clasts, clasts!!!!! Here a clast, there a clast.....rip-up clasts out the wazoo! The largest clast i've so far noted in this sandstone has to weigh nothing under 60 pounds!!!!!.....but it seems to be an exceptional one, most reach no where near this massive size......guess what else is in that hard sand stone in spots???? Lignite!!!!!.....insane sedimentology! :D unless i am a complete fool, i think even a novice can see what has happened here. So in the photos i will be posting, you will be looking @ sandstone that contains clay clasts and lignite wood!...have only found on bone frag in the sandstone, an it was pretty crazy looking too...busted to pieces. So set back and enjoy this crazy sedimentology.

--- Joshua

tennesseespride@gmail.com

The largest clasts i've so far found.

post-14571-0-74496300-1398683900_thumb.jpg

--- Joshua

Close-up of large clast showing it cemented in the sandstone matrix.