Is This A Fossil?

oasis

post-2620-12619308722594_thumb.jpgpost-2620-12619308915068_thumb.jpgpost-2620-1261930911277_thumb.jpgpost-2620-12619309399343_thumb.jpgpost-2620-12619309603546_thumb.jpgHi people, im new to all this so please bear with me. i was metal detecting a couple of months ago, and while i was scanning the floor, my eyes fell upon this. i dont know what it is, but it was suggested to me that it could be a fossil. hope someone can help. Thanks Chrispost-2620-12619308272555_thumb.jpgpost-2620-12619308498568_thumb.jpg

Well from your pics may be some kind of echinoid.

Not sure as I haven't seen one that looks just like that one.

Do you know if it was found in the Cretaceous?

Welcome to the forum!

Well from your pics may be some kind of echinoid.

Not sure as I haven't seen one that looks just like that one.

Do you know if it was found in the Cretaceous?

Erm, im that new rozilla, i dont know? I found it in a recently ploughed field in the uk, it was sat on the surface. i dont really have clue about fossils, but im really intrigued, someone suggested that it looked like a sea urchin but was shaped like a gastropod? Chris

Well I don't think the shape is like a gastropod (snail) at all.

Keep checking back as there is a chance I am wrong.

Since you are new, you could type your area where you found it and add

geology in your search and you may be able to come up with the age of stuff

found there. It may seem overwhelming in the beginning but it will soon fall into

place. You just might get hooked and have 2 things you love to do outside.:D

Oh, welcome to the forum, btw..

Forgot to add the link for a fossil site you might wanna have..

UK Fossils

Welcome to the forum!