JoeS

Hi all, I could not resist and took another shot on my quest to obtain a Dakotaraptor tooth.
Here the tooth in question this time:
It was found in the Hell Creek Formation, Garfield County.
Measurements are: CH 1,41 cm - CBL 0,68 cm - CBW 0,3 cm - denticles per 5mm are 22 mesial and 19 distal.
Note the slight tilt of the denticles towards the tip of the tooth.
It's the best fit I have found so far, what deviates from the dePalma description is the shape of the base, it has a pinch, but I would not consider it rectangular. As a side note, it looks exactly like the base of Acheroraptor teeth I have in my collection.
But, I am not an expert ;)

Thanks for taking a look!

2147117510_cf.Dakotaraptor(HCF)lateral.thumb.jpg.9a63a58ca46e8c8139535eded9dd4d52.jpg
836673337_cf.Dakotaraptor(HCF)mesialcarina.thumb.jpg.81658d848c5190dcb8b13015875f431e.jpg411420787_cf.Dakotaraptordenticles.thumb.jpg.da3432eb797e7805e0395523cc46be2a.jpg227199429_cf.Dakotaraptor(HCF)crosssection.thumb.jpg.4f6f27984974b4f946657ebe8b7e2698.jpg936204209_DSC10391copy.thumb.jpg.83db0e80250ffdb4df3d9aecd739a870.jpg

We have multiple issues with identifying these teeth.   First the paper that described them included a turtle bone that was thought to be Dakotaraptor and most believe one of the limb bones looks identical to Anzu so do we have a clear understanding about this dinosaur?  Did the isolated teeth found at the dig site belong to this animal?  Do the teeth change in the jaw?  All we have are images of 2  and ranges of its size no side or base profile.  In speaking with W. Stein he says the base is someone Almond shaped not fig 8 shaped like your images, but I really cannot verify that.   To make matter worst, as you know, these teeth closely resemble juvie Nanotyrannus as well as DSDI figures.

Having said all of this I believe your new specimen is yet another Nanotyrannus.   I say that for a couple of reasons

The holotype's Crown Height Ratio (CHR) range 1.9 to 1.6 and yours is 2.07