I've been doing paleo work for about 24 years now. Started very young in southern UT and never gave up on it. Had considered a career in it for a while, but ended up doing other things.

I'm a huge fan of pro-am partnerships and have been fortunate to work with some amazing paleontologists over the years. I'm always on the lookout for new and interesting sites.

This is my latest find. Happenstance discovery in Pima county AZ a few months ago. Currently under excavation by the county. Second proboscidean I've found so far in the southwest :)

The tusk is obvious, there were a few other bones eroding out. From what I understand they've uncovered some ribs with the tusk so far.

Cheers!

David

mammoth.jpg

Edited by Daveos
  • Enjoyed 12

Just now, Ludwigia said:

Very interesting, but I can't quite make out what part of the proboscian we are looking at. Can you please extrapolate?

Absolutely.

This is a tusk eroding out of the hill. They don't fare well once exposed out here in the deserts. You're looking at a cross section of the conical growth rings inside of the tusk. 

David

mammoth2.jpg

• I found this Informative 3
  • Enjoyed 3
  • Thank You 1

Very cool! Congrats on the find, and kudos for the desire to have professional and amateur collaboration. It’s something we encourage here. :JC_doubleup:

• Thank You 1
  • I Agree 1

The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.  -Neil deGrasse Tyson

Everyone you will ever meet knows something you don't. -Bill Nye (The Science Guy)

6 hours ago, FossilNerd said:

Very cool! Congrats on the find, and kudos for the desire to have professional and amateur collaboration. It’s something we encourage here. :JC_doubleup:

Thanks! 

Most of my experience is late cretaceous marine and terrestrial stuff. New to the pleistocene finds but find them very exciting. 

Was glad to learn this site encourages working with the professional community. 

• Enjoyed 1

4 hours ago, rocket said: