Please Help Identify

ConnieS

post-12430-0-03373200-1373227808_thumb.jpgpost-12430-0-60742200-1373227813_thumb.jpgpost-12430-0-21126300-1373227817_thumb.jpg

Total newbie here. Can anyone identify the animal this bone used to belong to? I'm not certain it's fossilized, but the bone feels to me as if it has turned to stone. It was found at Ocean Shores, WA.

Would appreciate anything anyone can tell me about it. The more details, the more ethralled the grandkids get. :)

Thanks much for any help.

Interesting! Wish I could help but not too familiar with bones. Would like to say welcome to the forum though! :)

I think this fascinating item is geologic, not biologic; a concretionary rock worn to a suggestive shape.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

Thanks, lissa318! I've collected many shell fossils from the beach over the years. This was something I'd never seen the likes of before. So glad to have found this forum. Maybe someone will know what it is.

Hi Auspex, Interesting theory. I've been so sure it was a bone ever since I found it but now I may have to rethink that. Any suggestion as to where I might take it for identification? Don't laugh, but I've been wondering if I should run it by my dog's vet. Thanks for replying!

There is some latent symmetry to it, so having someone see it in-hand would be a good idea. I'd suggest taking it to a museum, though, and have a paleontologist do it, rather than a veterinarian.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley