Florida Echinoid Help Needed

Plantguy

Hi Gang,

So we had an aborted Peace River trip yesterday and Jeff and I winded up in some nearby feeder creeks which was just fine with me. With Jeff leading the way I snagged this precious little invertebrate beauty from the first creek venture...my prize for the day by far!

post-1240-0-88813100-1398024449_thumb.jpgpost-1240-0-65602800-1398024447_thumb.jpg

Since I'm no expert in echys, the best guess I have going thru some online photos is Oligopygus as a possible ID. Having said that it appears the ones from Florida are from further north and are Eocene. There is alot of road construction in the area so I'm wondering where that fill might have come from and how it might have ended up in this part of the creek and so well preserved when much of the other shell material was broken....

Well enough speculation, maybe its simply something else from the local younger Peace River Hawthorne formation aged sediments and it is not some lost wanderer from further north in the state.

Any ID help is much greatly appreciated.

Regards, Chris

Any one else clicking on these images seeing them rotated???

Going to try attaching again.

post-1240-0-56433200-1398025409_thumb.jpgpost-1240-0-38578300-1398025403_thumb.jpg

Hmm...I reposted and no change...

Regards, Chris

Edited by Plantguy

Thanks Al dente. I had seen photos of that species....the Univ of Florida link has one that is a bit larger than mine...wondering if mine was a juvenile...

http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/invertpaleo/display.asp?catalog_number=64401&gallery_type=Florida%20Echinoidea

Still amazes me how tiny it is and that it was in very good shape and intact being in the creek with all of the other gravel. I did also find this chunk of whale vertebra

and rather fragile turtle shell fragment in the same digging hole. Both showed some wear and were broken but not really water worn too bad at all.

post-1240-0-20563900-1398048611_thumb.jpg

Thanks again for the ID help.