Where Can I Find Megs (If Any) In Or Around San Jose, Ca

Frty12345

Hello, I'm new to collecting fossils and I am really in love with Megalodon teeth (Makos look pretty cool too I wish I had one!). I bought my first Meg (Only about 1-2 inches) in Hawaii on vacation this past June and I was wondering if there are any sites in or around the bay area that might hold Megs or Makos? I saw Sharktooth hill and the price they ask is a little too much for me to spend as a novice and a little far away as well. If anyone knows of a spot near me it would be much appreciated! Thank you in advance! :)

Allosaurus_size_comparison.svg.png

Ah, :/ yeah it's a little too pricey and far for me :(. Thank you though :), Any other suggestions maybe? :D

Even at Shark Tooth Hill, Megs are excruciatingly rare. The experience of the dig there is worth the price (assuming it is within the budget), but to score a Meg in one trip would be unbelievable! I don't think there is really any site on the U.S. west coast where it wouldn't be the find of the year.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

Even at Shark Tooth Hill, Megs are excruciatingly rare. The experience of the dig there is worth the price (assuming it is within the budget), but to score a Meg in one trip would be unbelievable! I don't think there is really any site on the U.S. west coast where it wouldn't be the find of the year.

Thanks Auspex, Any Makos around here maybe? Also, I'm visiting Hawaii in January so is it possible that I might be able to find some there?

You should have a reasonable shot at fossil Mako teeth, if you can find a site (and I do not personally know anything about sites in your area). The Hawaiian Islands are too young to have fossils that old.