Some Curios

justrocks

Hey everybody, self taught newbie here I'm afraid so go easy!

I've been fascinated by the geology at my workplace as it was so different to where I grew up and elsewhere I was familiar with. For a long time I picked up coloured cherts and metalliferous lumps of quartz. Vague ideas to polish up/tumble some but never really did much with them, just dressed flower beds with them etc.

A couple of weeks ago I found a piece of lepidodendron root which was so obviously a bit of fossilised plant and easy even for me to Id it made me look again at some funky stones I'd collected/seen.

Cut to the chase, here's some pics:

post-18084-0-31115700-1429081204_thumb.jpg

post-18084-0-79980800-1429081224.jpg

post-18084-0-41273100-1429081270_thumb.jpg

post-18084-0-08995400-1429084908_thumb.jpg

post-18084-0-50124800-1429082031_thumb.png

the last is a close up of a piece swown in the first, i sliced it open thinking it was a strange bit of very old tree. its not like any tree ive seen, certainly not like the nice root slices ive seen.

thx for yr time and take it easy all :)

I think that these are rocks and minerals. If you give more explicit information about the provenance some of the experts on here could probably help you better.

Ha I bet you guys say that a lot. I'm kinda hoping yr right though.

Plex, what do you base yr opinion on? Can you link me to similar shaped rocks? I've worked with the land all my life and these have puzzled me for years. Never seen anything the same.

Please forgive my ignorance and feel free to correct anything I'm wrong about, am new to the field and self taught.

Found on an small igneous intrusion within a sedimentary plain. Site was mile or so inland but has been coastal in prehistory.

Site was mined for lead alloys way back when and metal is clearly visible in many rocks.