My Son And I Are Looking For Sites In Nj And Pa

cracken

Hello everyone!

Semi-Newbie here, armed with an 11yr old!!!

Collecting at "the Cafe" in Deer Park was allot of fun and the owner of the lot was great, but the rocks were being very stubborn that day as coercing a large chunk of anything was very difficult as it was very, VERY crumbly.

Would anyone be so kind as to share/recommend a spot that is in PA or NJ? I/we would love to try to find a Trilo, Starfish or leaves in rock that would not be terribly difficult to collect in. Deer Park was 1.5 hours away from me so that is not too bad at all.

Thank you very much for your help in advance... seems like every place i find lately has been closed off, I really missed out on the St. Clair and the Swatara Gap areas.... PLEASE HELP! :)

Hello everyone!

Semi-Newbie here, armed with an 11yr old!!!

Collecting at "the Cafe" in Deer Park was allot of fun and the owner of the lot was great, but the rocks were being very stubborn that day as coercing a large chunk of anything was very difficult as it was very, VERY crumbly.

Would anyone be so kind as to share/recommend a spot that is in PA or NJ? I/we would love to try to find a Trilo, Starfish or leaves in rock that would not be terribly difficult to collect in. Deer Park was 1.5 hours away from me so that is not too bad at all.

Thank you very much for your help in advance... seems like every place i find lately has been closed off, I really missed out on the St. Clair and the Swatara Gap areas.... PLEASE HELP! :)

Why don't you do carbondale plant fossils?

This might be a little far from you depending on where you live.

Where do you live now? That would help narrow down a list of places to look for fossils.

Plenty of old mine dumps in Schuylkill, Carbon and Lackawana Counties to find ferns in. Just be aware of ownership before you go in.

And Welcome to the Forum from Philadelphia!

gallery_1408_424_705.jpg

-Dave