post-1376-1240198664_thumb.jpg

Hi --

I found this tooth in a creek in Gainesville, Florida --

anyone know what it is?

(I'm new to this....)

Thanks!

--Erica

Welcome to the forum, Erica.

Your tooth appears to be a carnivore carnasial tooth. An uncommon find in the creeks.

For identifying teeth, it is most helpful to show both sides plus the occlusal surface (the meetingplace of upper and lower teeth)

http://pristis.wix.com/the-demijohn-page

What seest thou else

In the dark backward and abysm of time?

---Shakespeare, The Tempest

Welcome to the forum, Erica.

Your tooth appears to be a carnivore carnasial tooth. An uncommon find in the creeks.

For identifying teeth, it is most helpful to show both sides plus the occlusal surface (the meetingplace of upper and lower teeth)

Is there anyway to narrow it down at least to feline, canine, other? I guess a couple of more pix would help.

Cool find Erica!

What is geology? "Rocks for Jocks!"

Hi --

Oh yes, I have more pictures... just didn't want to overdo it, first time on the forum and all...

Thank you for your enthusiasm & help with identification!

Erica

post-1376-1240224939_thumb.jpg

post-1376-1240224954_thumb.jpg

post-1376-1240224964_thumb.jpg

I'll go with Canis, likely an M1. Since it was found in a creek there's no telling the age of the layer it came from so I won't venture any farther than that.

-Joe

Illigitimati non carborundum

Fruitbat's PDF Library

I'll go with Canis, likely an M1. Since it was found in a creek there's no telling the age of the layer it came from so I won't venture any farther than that.

-Joe

Neat! I look forward to learning more.