Cast/mold ID help

sTamprockcoin

I found this 2 years ago. I have an idea but not sure and any suggestions would be appreciated. It came from the river bed where the 2 brances of the Susquehanna River meet in Northumberland PA (Northumberland/Union Counties). In the immediate area is the bottom boundary of the Castkill Redbeds. I do not know the formation though there is both Surilian & Devonian exposures along the river.

I found it when the river was low after the inflatable dam was let down early in a semi-drought fall.

“Beautiful is what we see. More beautiful is what we understand. Most beautiful is what we do not comprehend.” N. Steno

Peat,

What Part defines the Genus? this was just a quick shot. I can do much better macro shots if that'd help.

“Beautiful is what we see. More beautiful is what we understand. Most beautiful is what we do not comprehend.” N. Steno

I'm not an expert on Brachiopods, but definitely an "enthusiast". One of the diagnostic locations is the hinge area showing the interarea. That, along with the number of plications and details of the sulcus and fold can help ID. Hopefully someone else can chime in with more.

If it is devonian, some possible Genera are: Orthospirifer, Mediospirifer,Cyrtospirifer, and possibly Mucrospirifer.

Also, there have been reports of Platystrophia from the early Silurian. That's an Avenue you should pursue as well based on the uncertainty of age.

Edited by Peat Burns
  • I found this Informative 2

I agree. What you have there is a brachiopod , probably Cyrtospirifer sp.

" We are not separate and independent entities, but like links in a chain, and we could not by any means be what we are without those who went before us and showed us the way. "

Thomas Mann

My Library