Trilobites's Collection

Trilobites

My growing collection of fossils... 

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

My collection currently contains trilobites, brachiopods, fish fossils, fern fossils (a few from Mazon Creek), petrified wood, ammonites, crinoids, orthoceras, etc.

All fossils found in this collection I either bought or received from friends, as soon as I am able to start collecting my own fossils I will create a separate Collection Journal.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Edited by Trilobites

Diplomystus dentatus

Fossil Butte Member

Green River Formation

Eocene (50 M.Y.B.P.)

Lincoln County

Wyoming, USA

Purchased at The Black Hills Institute of Geological Research in South Dakota.

_DSC0002.JPG

Edited by Trilobites

10 minutes ago, Trilobites said:

Small trilobite I picked up in Hill City, South Dakota.

_DSC0003.JPG

I am not a Trilobite expert, but that should be a Elrathia kingii from the Cambrian Wheeler Shale of Utah.

• I found this Informative 1

8 minutes ago, Nimravis said:

I am not a Trilobite expert, but that should be a Elrathia kingii from the Cambrian Wheeler Shale of Utah.

Very cool!  I was hoping someone might know a little bit more about these than I do..  I'm far from an expert myself.

P.S. Here's one I found online..  I think you're probably right.

Elrathia_kingi_without_librigenes.jpg

Edited by Trilobites

A few tidbits of info for you. 

First, my OCD needs to point out that your Diplomystus is pictured upside/down.    Gah!  :blink:    :P   :)

The Moroccan trilobites I believe are Flexicalymene ouzregui - I don't think Diacalymene is a valid name for them.

The small gray trilobite is indeed an Elrathia kingii, probably from the Cambrian Wheeler Shale. 

Your first small fish is from the Cretaceous Santana Formation of Brazil.  It is a Dastilbe crandalli.