Tools Of The Trade.

Guest Nicholas

Guest Nicholas

I know we have a lot of very good fossil prepers here on the forum, and seeing how I am new to preping I thought I would ask which types of equipment does everyone use. Anything from chipping away rock to the final polishing, I want to know. I think it will be interesting to see how people vary with what they use.

Thanks,

Nicholas

Guest N.AL.hunter

Dremel tool, old black n decker rotary tool,dental picks, tooth brushes, toothpicks, metal engraver, horse hair brushes, hypodermic syringes (used for insulin) to get into narrow areas, large/lighted magnifying glass, small hammer, small chisels, and of course my fingernails. I wish I had a sand blaster type device for cleaning all these encrusted crinoids I keep finding.

Dremel tool, old black n decker rotary tool,dental picks, tooth brushes, toothpicks, metal engraver, horse hair brushes, hypodermic syringes (used for insulin) to get into narrow areas, large/lighted magnifying glass, small hammer, small chisels, and of course my fingernails. I wish I had a sand blaster type device for cleaning all these encrusted crinoids I keep finding.

I'm just cleaning soft chalk off bones, but I bought a cheap ($30) microblaster off e-bay made by Badger Company. It just hooks up to an air compressor. It came with a jar of abbrasive, but I just use cheap baking soda. It works great for me, but like I said I'm just cleaning soft chalk, and I do have to be careful not to go too deep, but most of my fossils are a lot harder than the chalk. I'll try to get some photos to post.

For one species to mourn the death of another is a new thing under the sun.
-Aldo Leopold

I know we have a lot of very good fossil prepers here on the forum, and seeing how I am new to preping I thought I would ask which types of equipment does everyone use. Anything from chipping away rock to the final polishing, I want to know. I think it will be interesting to see how people vary with what they use.