Any Good Places Near San Marcos Texas For Giant Ammonites? I Used To Have A Spot...

dt1028

I am a Texas State student who grew up outside of San Marcos Texas. When I was a kid we used to play in an abandoned limestone quarry off of Hunter road.

We managed to find some giant Ammonites about the size of small car tires but they were to big for us to move on our BMX bikes. We did manage to carry one home weighing about 40 lbs and a giant sea snail that i found.

We had access to this quarry because a friend of mine lived on the property. Sadly when he moved away and more houses were constructed near the quarry the owner started really going after people trespassing. This put an end to our days of seeing these things.

The house i grew up in, which my parents still live in, has fossils all over the place. Tons of shells, and i think coral but no ammonites.

Does any one here have any sites near San Marcos Texas that has Ammonites. I would like to learn how to extract them and start a collection. I am willing to deal with the June/July heat if need be.

Welcome to the forum from Northeast Texas. I wish I could help you out but I am almost at the Red river so I know nothing about the area. If you knew who the owner of the quarry is, sometimes if you go up to them, explain what you are doing, I have found that they will let you go in. What they don't like is people going in without asking that makes them mad. It wouldn't hurt to ask. Good luck.

The quarry is owned by a development firm now and they are paranoid about lawsuits. They destroyed the ramp that goes into the quarry. They also sold all the land around it.

So even if we could get down there, trying to bring these things back up a 30 foot wall is a feat in itself.

start searching for information on eopachydiscus and the duck creek formation.

Welcome from Galveston Texas. I have not been to San Marcos in years, but do a Google search will get tons of info.