Fossil Hunting Illegal?

TXHunter

Ok, so I ran into a park attendant on Lake Grapevine this weekend who told me that fossil hunting (actually removing any kind of artifact) from the corp land was a $5,000 fine. Is this accurate? How many other places is this the case? I am just getting into this and I guess I don't really know the "rules". How often is this enforced?

Q. Where can I go to collect arrowheads and fossils?

A. While artifact and fossil collecting is illegal on public lands, it is not unlawful on private property as long as permission is granted by the landowner. It is the responsibility of the collector to know who owns the land, to understand the laws that apply, and to obtain permission to enter private property. We do encourage you to take an active part in preserving Texas' heritage for future generations by adopting a "look but don't touch" approach to appreciating archeology.

From the Beyond Texas History Home Page

Galveston Island 32 miles long 2 miles wide 134 bars 23 liquor stores any questions?

Evolution is Chimp Change.

Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass; it's about learning to dance in the rain!

"I like to listen. I have learned a great deal from listening carefully. Most people never listen." Ernest Hemingway

Ok, so I ran into a park attendant on Lake Grapevine this weekend who told me that fossil hunting (actually removing any kind of artifact) from the corp land was a $5,000 fine. Is this accurate? How many other places is this the case? I am just getting into this and I guess I don't really know the "rules". How often is this enforced?

Thats probably true there. A few years back they had some dino footprints get damaged/stolen due to collectors. Also state parks are illegal to hunt in, and any private private property unless you have permission. Many of the lakes in the area do not let you hunt in or around them. The best way to know is to ask a park ranger, or check web sites.

Justin