Trilobite - real or fabrication?

Arizona Rex

Greetings,

I received this trilobite (Quadrops Philonyx I was told) from an acquaintance about two years ago.  While grateful, I soon grabbed my magnifier and tried to determine its authenticity.  Not being an expert by any stretch, my first assumption is that this piece is not real, but a fabrication.  I hesitate to use the word "fake" as perhaps its initial purpose was to be used as a model or teaching guide.  Over the holidays I showed this piece to a family member and they suggested that perhaps this was not a fabrication, but perhaps a real trilobite that had been badly prepared by someone who was unskilled at the task.  While I am still heavily on the side of fabrication, again not being an expert, I would sincerely appreciate any and all help concluding real or fabrication.  Thank you.

1..jpg

5.jpg

4.jpg

2.jpg

7.jpg

9.jpg

Unfortunately, this is a cast. The furrows and segments are carved into the piece, while a lack of eye detail and the small bubbles on the trilobite indicate the use of resin. It's also missing spine stubs that would be present on a real but poorly prepared example that had spines before the rough prep. The matrix looks to be real stone on the bottom, on which a slab of resin, complete with the trilobite and imitation prep marks, was set.

Here's a helpful resource for trilobite fakes: http://www.fossilmuseum.net/collect/faketrilobites3.htm

• I found this Informative 4

Regards, Jason

"Trilobites survived for a total of three hundred million years, almost the whole duration of the Palaeozoic era: who are we johnny-come-latelies to label them as either ‘primitive’ or ‘unsuccessful’? Men have so far survived half a per cent as long."  - Richard Fortey, Trilobite: Eyewitness to Evolution.