Pennsylvanian Period Tooth?

LanceH

I know I've seen this thing somewhere but can't find where I saw it.

Anyway found this on Saturday in the late Pennsylvanian age 'Palo Pinto' formation in Texas.

post-11-1208745146_thumb.jpg

post-11-1208745162_thumb.jpg

Naw, I think it's a fish or shark tooth...

I have no experience with verts, but that looks like a hypostome off of a trilobite.

That's an interesting specimen.

It certainly 'looks' Chondrichthyan. I went through my Carboniferous shark teeth but don't have anything quite like it. One feature that 'sort of' points it in a direction is the symmetry of the two sides. I'd take a wild guess at being a tooth plate from a 'petalodont' shark...but...not 'Petalodus' or a known species. There's a wide range of symmetrical teeth from the petalodont grouping and many don't resemble the typical 'Petalodont' but have multiple rounded points ranging from about 10 in 'Ctenopychius' to the one flat one in 'Petalodus'. .

A lot of paleozoic shark material is unique and unstudied.It's probably questionable 'who is related to who' as a lot of early shark lines are based on a few specimen and groupings are educated speculation. I would free some from matrix with acid and take them to an old emeritus paleontologist who wrote a couple of papers on them. He would put 'probably new genus' on some of them. It wasn't even certain if some were teeth, modified scales and so on.

Do you have other shark teeth from this age? It'd be great to see some photos. We all want to collect that big Megalodont or T-rex tooth but from a pure scientific perspective, those little paleozoic tooth specimens are top on my list.

I have no experience with verts, but that looks like a hypostome off of a trilobite.

If there's anyone here not familiar with a trilobite hypostome, here's what Solius is suggesting.

post-42-1208801180_thumb.jpg

post-42-1208801266_thumb.jpg

http://pristis.wix.com/the-demijohn-page

What seest thou else