What References/resources Do You Use To Id Trilo Fragments?

PennyT.

Fossil Forum Trilobite Lovers,

what references/resources do you use to identify trilobite fragments? Besides Caleb's photo gallery at midwestpaleo and the Dry Dredgers site, what would you recommend?

What is really helpful are photos of trilo parts labeled in the matrix against which to compare one's own find. I am wondering if this is worth a separate thread for my fellow newbies- one where people post photos identifying molts and parts in situ, thought anyone?

thanks

Penny

Penny,

I'm just starting out in trilo country myself having just moved to the area, so I'll be watching this thread closely. Thanks for posting the question.

Here's one I found in the past but just starting to use:

http://www.trilobites.info/

SWard
Southeast Missouri

(formerly Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX)

USA

That is an excellent one Sward! Explains a lot about trilobites. I'm so boggled with over 5,000 species of the critters, well, its too much for me!

I too will be watching this thread in hopes of gaining more knowledge!

Bev :)

The more I learn, I realize the less I know.

:wacko:

Go to my

Gallery for images of Fossil Jewelry, Sculpture & Crafts

Pinned Posts:

It would be more manageable to research resources

of trilobites known from the areas one collects

than trilobites of the world.

Wonderful advice Indy, my problem is not knowing what trilobites are here to research just them. Midwestpaleo.com (Caleb's site) has a lot of them but not necessarily in a way to research and recognize them. He has lots of beautifully prepped trilobite fossils. But recognizing just an eye sticking out, or a free cheek, well that is beyond me at this point... :)

The more I learn, I realize the less I know.

:wacko:

Go to my

Gallery for images of Fossil Jewelry, Sculpture & Crafts

Pinned Posts:

My resource is...drum roll....'The Fossil Forum'.