coprolite? and tooth

PaleIO

I am very new to the fossil collecting hobby so i really appreciate the input. the knowledge base here is impressive to say the least.... this was all found in close proximity. the area also has lots of tiny shell fossils. I am not sure about the coprolite I only picked it up because it had "the look" haha. it seams to have broken shell pieces in it also. The tooth appears to still have a bone type material attached and is very interesting to me. 

20161129_165030_resized.jpg20161129_164958_resized.jpg20161129_165018_resized.jpg20161129_165107_resized.jpg 

First I'd like to welcome you to the forum!

I don't think these are coprolites. While a few seem to have the overall shape of fecal segments, they just seem too granular. I think they may be some sort of accretions. The disc-shaped one almost looks like it could be an encrusted vertebra. Where did you find these?

@Carl what do you think?

• I found this Informative 4

Thank you for the warm welcome. They came from NE New Mexico. I was wondering about the grainy texture. the only other thing that made me think coprolite was how close they were together and I didn't see any other similar material in the area. another image attached.. Thanks!!

20161129_162559.jpg

1 hour ago, PaleIO said:

Thank you for the warm welcome. They came from NE New Mexico. I was wondering about the grainy texture. the only other thing that made me think coprolite was how close they were together and I didn't see any other similar material in the area. another image attached.. Thanks!!

20161129_162559.jpg

Here is an accretion cluster from Venezuela that I was hoping was a pile of coprolite. However, under the microscope it turned out to be grainy. Looking at the small chipped edge, it is hard to see if the texture is consistent throughout. You could try cracking one open to see what the inside looks like. Do you happen to know what geologic formation they are from? 

13 hours ago, GeschWhat said: