What to avoid at the Denver Show

agills

Hello everyone, I've been trying to gather a list of fossils for a wishlist for the upcoming September show in Denver. I've been looking in the fake/real section in the forum and it's seemed to sway my confidence for picking out real vs fake fossils in person. Is there any fossils or regions where fakes are common, or that I should avoid purchasing? Thank you for any help! 

I read on here about the Otodus obliquus from Morocco being broken and then lengthened with matrix and, sure enough, at the first show I went to, all of them had been altered.  As a newbie, I never would have known, if not for TFF.  Why don't you say what fossils are on your wish list so people can comment on what to look for specifically?

• I found this Informative 2
  • I Agree 2

Fin Lover

image.png.e69a5608098eeb4cd7d1fc5feb4dad1e.png image.png.e6c66193c1b85b1b775526eb958f72df.png image.png.65903ff624a908a6c80f4d36d6ff8260.png

image.png.7cefa5ccc279142681efa4b7984dc6cb.png

My favorite things about fossil hunting: getting out of my own head, getting into nature and, if I’m lucky, finding some cool souvenirs.

@Fin Lover Thank you for your response 

It’s just a small list so far, but:

1. Keichousaurus

2. Diplomystus

3. Some type of leg bone (I.e Hardrosaur Humerous / Ulna) 

You might not go wrong bringing a handheld black light and to ask questions about any restorations and repairs. 

• I found this Informative 1
  • I Agree 4

...How to Philosophize with a Hammer

Pretty much any highly desirable fossil will have a fake or two out there. Some are entirely fake casts from resin. Others may be an amalgamation of multiple specimens glued together to make one. It all depends on what you are looking for. 

@Fin Lover had a great suggestion of providing a wishlist.

Given the items in said wishlist, I would specifically watch for paint.