Acid etching?

GreatLakesLady

Hi, I'm brand new to this. I noticed this "creasing" on a couple rocks after soaking them in vinegar. Is it a reaction from the vinegar?

post-22074-0-18518900-1469749673_thumb.jpg

Welcome to the Fossil Forum. I made the same pattern on a piece of limestone when I soaked it in HCl. Somehow rising bubble and acid make those patterns.

Edited by DPS Ammonite
  • I found this Informative 3

My goal is to leave no stone or fossil unturned.   

See my Arizona Paleontology Guide    link  The best single resource for Arizona paleontology anywhere.       

The technical term for it is "puckering". When eat a spoonful of vinegar your face does the same thing.

• I found this Informative 1

Info: Craig Hyatt, retired software/electrical engineer

Experience: Beginner, fossil hunting less than a year

Location: Eagle Pass, TX USA on the border with Mexico, hot dry desert

Formation: Escondido, Marine, Upper Cretaceous

Materials: Sandstone, Mudstone, Shale, Chert, Chalk

Typical: Thalassinoides, Sphenodiscus, Exogyra, Inoceramus

Reference: http://txfossils.com/Txfossils.html

Thank you! Puckering is exactly what it looks like!

Aww man. I should have put a smiley. I was just kidding. On the other hand, maybe we just invented a new technical term and we should publish a paper. ;-)

• I found this Informative 2

Info: Craig Hyatt, retired software/electrical engineer

Experience: Beginner, fossil hunting less than a year

Location: Eagle Pass, TX USA on the border with Mexico, hot dry desert

Formation: Escondido, Marine, Upper Cretaceous

Materials: Sandstone, Mudstone, Shale, Chert, Chalk

Typical: Thalassinoides, Sphenodiscus, Exogyra, Inoceramus

Reference: http://txfossils.com/Txfossils.html