MeargleSchmeargl

Modern shells and fossil shells: How to tell the difference?

MeargleSchmeargl

I look at many a shell that I walk upon on a beach or creek, even at established fossil sites, and I wonder if some of these shells are fossil or not. This is particularly an issue at a place like the Calvert cliffs, where modern shells could wash from the Potomac just as easily as any fossil shells, and what makes it worse is that fossil and modern shells many times even have very similar color in places like river locations. As I am not a huge expert in fossil shells (or in particular, Bivalves as this would be the most common occurrence of confusion, being the most common modern shells on the banks of rivers), what are the big distinguishing features between modern and fossil shells?

ynot

For Me it is whether it is set in rock or not, for others it is more an age thing.

Can be very hard to identify a fossil of an extant species that has a long history.

Al Dente

Sometimes you can’t tell if a shell is old or not. When you go to the beach some shells are modern and many are hundreds to thousands of years old and they all look alike. 

*THEO*

Some fossil bivalve shells can preserve their original color markings for millions of years and this makes the differentiation between fossil and non-fossil shells even harder:(.

Spinosaurus

@Max-fossils knows a lot about fossil shells. maybe he can tell you.

Tidgy's Dad

I guess it's just practice, experience and getting to know the localities. You get a 'feeling' for what's right and wrong. 

But in some cases I don't think there's any way you can tell. 

Unless you've got access to dating equipment! 

Max-fossils
8 minutes ago, Tidgy's Dad said:

I guess it's just practice, experience and getting to know the localities. You get a 'feeling' for what's right and wrong.