jonplafoy

I found this fossil a few weeks ago. It was in a creek bed that flows during the wet season but has pools in the dry. I know the creek has sandstone, but it also looks like it has limestone and possibly slate. There is also a lot of rocks containing rust. This fossil appears to be stained with it. I am located in Western Kentucky near Hopkinsville. 

One side looks like it is ribs. The other side is smooth and one part is unusually round. There are pockets that appear to be filled with sediment that has solidified into rock. 

I've added pictures from all sides and others with measurements. I will add them as replies since the files are too large.  I wish I had more, but this is all I have.

20190215_081316.jpg

I'm far from an expert but it looks to be just rippled sandstone which could be indicative of underwater formation so other fossils may be present, it appears to be mostly Mississippian aged rocks around there, I would look up fossils from around that area to get an eye for what you might find.

• I found this Informative 2

6 minutes ago, Rayminazzi said:

I'm far from an expert but it looks to be just rippled sandstone which could be indicative of underwater formation so other fossils may be present, it appears to be mostly Mississippian aged rocks around there, I would look up fossils from around that area to get an eye for what you might find.

Ray, 

I've seen what you are talking about. Many times I have thought those to be fossils until I noticed they were just rock. This one is different, and biggest thing is the smooth and round back side and the crevices that are filled with rick. The the third to last photo I uploaded you can see the distinct separation. 

I will look for what you have suggested. Thanks. 

it is a geologic feature

"Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence"_ Carl Sagen

No trees were killed in this posting......however, many innocent electrons were diverted from where they originally intended to go.