What concentration of Butvar 76 should I use?

KimTexan

My Butvar 76 arrived yesterday.

I need to know what concentrations of it to make for my bison prep.

Most of the bison was in pretty decent shape and not terribly fragile, but the skull is a different story. It had a few tree roots growing through it and was split in a few places. 

I do not know what concentrations to make of butvar 76 to stabilize the very fragile parts and also to glue back some broken pieces.

1. What concentrations do I need to make for the project? Ideally I would like to know the grams B76 to milliliters of acetone ratio for each use.  

I’m a complete novice at this sort of prep. My prep up to this point has been on invertebrates in matrix. This is a vertebrate in dirt. I don’t even know where to begin. I’d categorize myself as next to clueless.

I’m trying to educate myself with lecture videos and articles, but I haven’t found anything on concentrations or dilutions for different use or applications of bone prep and stabilization.

I have some very novice questions. Please humor me in my utter ignorance. 

Parts of the skull are very fragile and thin. I’ve left the mud and dirt in place where it is most fragile. So I need to stabilize it before I attempt to remove the dirt, which then stabilizes the dirt in place too. This seems like it’s going to be insanely tedious.

2. How do I remove the dirt while it is essential stabilized in place with the bone? I assume I will add a little acetone to the dirt to weaken the b76 and try not to add too much so the I destabilize the bone.

Is that the gist of how it works? If that’s the case I can work with that and figure things out as I go. I’m good with my hands and problem solving.