Did we find something? Central PA shale pit

NateFollmer

First off, sorry for taking a “field photo”. I took a photo of this and then we left it back at the pit (it’s pure chaos trying to keep 3 kids in order lol). 

We found a good bit of these darker things near the top of a shale pit in Mifflin Co (I think we’re still in Mifflin, if not it’s the southern tip of Centre). That one on the left by itself is around 2 1/2 inches long (~63mm). I tried to do some research and I think there was also some burrows in the shale in that area, but I’m a total noob so maybe I’m just seeing what I want to see ;) (I’ll get photos of them next time we go out). 

Hopefully that’s enough info to get started. Let me know if I can add anything else or get more photos when we go back! 

756F1713-AB56-4EF7-8F36-9AFA23A65D7D.jpeg

Actually,  we encourage field photos, so you did good. Unfortunately I am not sure what the dark objects are. Could be some sort of mineral form. Maybe someone else will have a better idea.

• I found this Informative 2

Dipleurawhisperer5.jpg          MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png

I like Trilo-butts and I cannot lie.

Not sure what you found, but I too wanted to extend a welcome to TFF from Austin, Tx.

Thanks all! Regardless of what it is, it was enough to get the boys excited! That’s enough for me! 

• I found this Informative 1

Welcome from Virginia! Site and trip photos are awesome and a great part of any trip post.

I'm leaning towards geological, but even so, I'm not sure what.

@Shamalama is from Pennsylvania. I wonder if he has ever seen something like this? :headscratch:

The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.  -Neil deGrasse Tyson

Everyone you will ever meet knows something you don't. -Bill Nye (The Science Guy)

15 minutes ago, FossilNerd said:

@Shamalama is from Pennsylvania. I wonder if he has ever seen something like this? :headscratch: