Fadiasforest

Weird question but i was wondering if anyone knows why my skin tests as metal on a diamond tester? I test people that come over and they don't so it's not a faulty tester. I'm stumped and can't find an answer online TIA

• 2 weeks later...

@Fadiasforest Intriguing, I have no experience  with diamond testers. But....are you getting the "metal" reading when you apply the device to yourself? If so, have you tried having someone else wield the device and apply it to you? Result? My hypothesis - no "metal" response.

Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, also are remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so. - Douglas Adams, Last Chance to See

I thought about that after I asked the question but haven't had a chance to try it out and see. I can't remember if I had anyone else hold it at any point so you may be absolutely right. Thank you for answering! 

I did a search on diamond testers, since I didn't have a clue about them. The model I saw featured an electrical contact that was touched by the user during testing. The simple procedure I outlined tries to control for any circuit being closed when the user touches themselves. In other words, is the procedure the causation or is the device truly measuring your bizarre metallic skin?!? :heartylaugh: 

• I found this Informative 1

Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, also are remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so. - Douglas Adams, Last Chance to See

6 minutes ago, snolly50 said:

The model I saw featured an electrical contact that was touched by the user during testing.

Strange!

Diamonds are very poor electrical conductors (in fact, very good insulators). But very good thermal conductors. Which is a bit of an unusual combination.

Diamond testers I know of are measuring thermal conductivity.

@Fadiasforest, would you like to show us your device? Thanks!