Buying the correct Microscope for microfossils

Huntlyfossils

Hello all I'm looking at purchasing a new microscope for my microfossils, I have been recommended Am microscopes.

I was looking for a stereo microscope with a good camera for photos and measurements .

I have narrowed it down to 12 Amscopes but im now a bit stuck on what I should look for or avoid if anyone has any advise that would be great.

Cheers

I have an amscope (an investment I made after a very close relative passed) and its the prep tool I sue the most I can't say anything bad about it, now I believe your needs are different but can highly recommend this brand I have the 10x - 20x and that is perfect for prep and even for taking photographs of close up serrations if a customer asks for them.

7 minutes ago, Haravex said:

I have an amscope (an investment I made after a very close relative passed) and its the prep tool I sue the most I can't say anything bad about it, now I believe your needs are different but can highly recommend this brand I have the 10x - 20x and that is perfect for prep and even for taking photographs of close up serrations if a customer asks for them.

Thanks for the advice this too will be an investment after losing a very close relative(mum).

• I found this Informative 1

I've heard mixed things about Amscopes. Some are okay, some less so. Is your plan to only use this for microfossil photography?

2 minutes ago, Thomas.Dodson said:

I've heard mixed things about Amscopes. Some are okay, some less so. Is your plan to only use this for microfossil photography?

Yes this will be the main purpose, I would like to get a good quality microscope to study and photograph for microfossils , i have many kgs of microfossil material I would like to study better .

I currently have a cheap usb digital microscope which is fine for my larger specimens but doesn't provide me the magnification and detail for which i am looking for.