Road Cuts

hunterdoug

Hello, I heard that almost any road cut is legal to hunt in, is this true? I'm fairly new to fossil hunting and the last thing I want to do is get busted for hunting in the wrong spot here in Northern Ca, any advice would be great, thanks!

Doug

Look into your state's/counties' rules regarding "right of ways" on county and state roads. In MI., it's 15' from the side of the road, 30' from the middle. Even if it's your front yard, the county owns that strip.

Also check power line right of ways, too.

Good luck!

Tim

For the most part, road cuts are ok to hunt in. If you see signs warning you away due to rockfalls or private property then please respect them and don't hunt there.

I heard a story that last year in Indiana some people got busted for hunting in a road cut because they essentially were pulling up in a truck and hauling away the rock for use in landscaping (commercial). The local sheriff decided to interpret the law by saying that the road cut way state property and you were not allowed to steal from the state. Thus everyone got chased away.

In other instances they are more concerned with talus or rocks being dislodged and blocking the road or hitting passing cars.

Be safe and be aware of local laws is the best advice.

Good luck!

-Dave

Geologists on the whole are inconsistent drivers. When a roadcut presents itself, they tend to lurch and weave. To them, the roadcut is a portal, a fragment of a regional story, a proscenium arch that leads their imaginations into the earth and through the surrounding terrain. - John McPhee

If I'm going to drive safely, I can't do geology. - John McPhee

Check out my Blog for more fossils I've found: http://viewsofthemahantango.blogspot.com/

hi hunterdoug...