Tiny Hell Creek Tyrannosaur tooth?

jikohr

Hi everyone,

About a week ago I posted pictures of a tiny carnivorous dinosaur tooth from Hell Creek thinking it was raptor and it wound up being Tyrannosaur. Since then I've been taking a closer look at my other tiny teeth and this one which I thought was Acheroraptor stuck out to me when I took a closer look at the serrations. It also occurred to me that there are serrations (although very worn that I for the life of me could not get a decent shot of but are present) on the anterior carina which you don't see on Acheroraptor teeth so now I'm leaning more towards a tiny Tyrannosaur, but I'm still learning so I was hoping for a second opinion.

Thanks as always!

raptor 17.jpg

raptor 18.jpg

raptor 19.jpg

raptor 20.jpg

raptor 21.jpg

raptor 22.jpg

raptor 23.jpg

raptor 24.jpg

Need the following.

CH, CBL & CBW

Density both carinae midline okay with 2 or 3mm wide

1938662861_TheropodtoothID2.thumb.jpg.f118593a4c854f1f97d353fd9ad61c31.jpg

• I found this Informative 1

I think your original thinking was correct. The longitudinal ridges on the crown faces and the apparent dissimilarity of the serrations on each carina are diagnostic characteristics of Acheroraptor. Would be nice to have measurements to confirm that as Frank requested.

47 minutes ago, jikohr said:

there are serrations (although very worn that I for the life of me could not get a decent shot of but are present) on the anterior carina which you don't see on Acheroraptor teeth so now I'm leaning more towards a tiny Tyrannosaur, but I'm still learning so I was hoping for a second opinion.

Acheroraptor and other Dromaeosaurs can certainly have mesial serrations - the feature you're looking for is the difference in serration densities. Compare with this magnificent specimen of @JoeS's:

acheroraptor.thumb.jpg.129a20804fe2b2de4dc25ae51b3cac9b.jpg

Forever a student of Nature