Questions: BBC’s Prehistoric Planet, Episode 2

Sightreader

Hello everyone!  I’m relatively new to the world of dinosaurs and was watching BBC’s “Prehistoric Planet”.

As David Attenborough states before every episode, “we now know SO MUCH about the world of dinosaurs… this is their story”. The confidence of that statement - combined with Attenborough’s formidable reputation amongst laymen - makes me hopeful that the show doesn’t contain complete speculation without disclaimers. However, they show a lot of stuff that I’ve never seen in my limited reading.  Does anyone know what sorts of evidence might they have for this these behaviors?

Episode 2 - “Deserts” - begins with a massive group of male Dreadnoughtus - portrayed walking with necks relatively erect, like brachiosaurs - wandering far from their forests, plodding through the desolate South American desert to where a large group of females awaits them - in the middle of nowhere - to breed. Rows of what the show itself acknowledges to be “bizarre” balloon-like “gular air sacs” inflate up and down along the length of those immense necks, each allegedly connected to a series of “bellows” inside their neck bones. Battles for mating competition amongst males seems to be based on (what looks to me) like walrus behavior, with the massive creatures rearing up on their hind legs, falling forward until they slam into each other, followed by their relatively vertical necks slapping into each other as heads bite at each other’s necks. In the meantime, grappling forelimb spikes stab at each other’s torsos.