Advice On What To Do With My Collection

pcolley

Hi everyone, I am an amateur collector. I grew up in central Texas and collected many specimens of minerals, worked flint and small fossils. I also had a few rockhound friends who donated specimens to me. It's about two boxes of specimens collected between the 1970s and 1990s. I am simplifying my life and thinking it's time to donate some or all of them for scientific and educational purposes. I've been in touch with a few gem & mineral institutions in East Texas who have expressed interest.

Here is my question. I have never had any of the pieces valued. From the little research I have done, I think the whole thing is worth only a few hundred bucks. Although I am unemployed, I don't mind making a donation of that size to a good cause. What I don't want to do is give away something priceless without knowing what I'm doing. At one point many years ago, I had a pterodactyl head (yes a REAL one) but because I was young and stupid, I didn't keep it under lock and key and a so-called family friend of my mother's stole it for drug money. I still get upset over that whole mess.

I guess my point is, I want to be smart about valuing my donation, and if a select few pieces are worth hanging on to, I'd like to know. There are too many pictures to post here. I do have a 3.5 MB PPT that I could share if anyone would be willing to take a quick look to see if anything stands out.

I'm moving in a few weeks so it's not feasible for me to drag everything to a gem show. I did a google search and found you guys. Hoping you can help me out. Thanks so much in advance. Any help or advice is appreciated.

Welcome :)

That is really nice that you are willing to donate them to some intitutions. I think a lot of us on here know a little bit about minerals. I don't know too much, but I'd be willing to give it a look to see if there was anything I wold personally hold on to. :)

The soul of a Fossil Hunter is one that is seeking, always.