Hi everyone, I have just purchased an Oreodont skull.  I have no experience with these.  I assume this is genuine, but I don't know much about what they are supposed to look like, so I'm just hoping for some expertise from people who know more than I do.

This one seems to have a lot of matrix that needs to be removed, but I certainly wouldn't want to mess anything up with it being unskilled with that kind of work.  It looks like at least part of the bottom jaw is still in the matrix, you can see a large bone sticking out in a couple of places.  What do you guys think?

20230314_202706.jpg

20230314_202712.jpg

20230314_202839.jpg

20230314_202813.jpg

20230314_202759.jpg

20230314_202749.jpg

20230314_202727.jpg

20230314_202652.jpg

20230314_202645.jpg

20230314_202628.jpg

• Enjoyed 3

Nice oreodont skull! Theres definetly some pieces of lower jaw there and a nice canine. You will definetly want to consolidate that canine becuase it’s pretty cracked up. I’d leave the matrix around the canine until you get some prepping experience and the right tools or that fang could shatter. It looks like you may have a full zygomatic arch under the matrix covering! Sweet!

definetly real. And looks like a culbertsoni oreodont

Edited by Randyw
  • I found this Informative 1
  • Thank You 1

It’s left side could turn out really awesome! I was just looking at close ups of your skull. It looks like you have part of the braincase and most of the nose even. My avitar is an oreodont by the way. If you would like i can take some pictures of a cast of a full skull i have with my skulls so you use it as a road map if you decide to prep it out.

Edited by Randyw
  • Thank You 1

1 hour ago, Randyw said:

Feel free to ask if i can help you out more!