Small Shell Find // Should I Open It?

JTArmen47

• New Members

I found a small shell fossil on a piece and there seems to be other fossil imprints that have sadly wore away. I was wondering however, if I should try and break it open. Being such a minute find, it's not a huge deal if it is lost, but I am also new to this and don't know how likely it would be to find more fossils within.

Note 01: The shell mold is very faint in the image and more pronounced in person. Seen on image No. 01.

Note 02: There seems - to me - to be a fold or seam in the rock that would seem to make it easier to split with a chisel. Seen on image No. 01, on the bottom right. 

Note 03: There are crystalline elements on the surface, much like small quartz formations or granite particulate, possible suggesting a geode?

2023_6_19_Edit_05.thumb.jpg.c1efa7bf83250abe137f751a070d48b7.jpgSide No. 02.

Side No. 03

Welcome to the Forum, JT.  There are no shells to break apart.  You have a cast of the interior of a clam.  Such a cast is called a "steinkern."  

• I found this Informative 3

http://pristis.wix.com/the-demijohn-page

What seest thou else

In the dark backward and abysm of time?

---Shakespeare, The Tempest

• New Members
10 minutes ago, Harry Pristis said:

Welcome to the Forum, JT.  There are no shells to break apart.  You have a cast of the interior of a clam.  Such a cast is called a "steinkern."  

Thanks for the comment. However, it looks to me to be an exterior cast of a clam or other shell. Also, thanks for the name of such a cast, good information for me.

Edited by JTArmen47

Harry is correct in telling you that this is a cast of the interior of a clam. Like when you filled your bucket with sand as a child at the beach, turned it upside-down and lifted it away, leaving the internal mold of the bucket. Get it? I sorta doubt if there's a geode inside this thing, but you'll never know until you've tried, right?

• I found this Informative 1
  • Enjoyed 1