Oviraptor Egg

Crazyhen

I'm not an expert but I haven't seen a hollow oviraptor egg with such crystalisation before. They often have a grey or red matrix beneath the shell. Based on my experience most of the eggs on matrix are fake eggs. On this specimen the shell looks tgtbt, I mean you don't see any clear natural looking cracks of the shell. I also think this conspicuous round hole should suggerate where the oviraptor hatched..but it simply doesn't look natural.

• I found this Informative 1
  • I Agree 1

The outer side of the hole looks wider than the inner side... It cannot be the place where the animal was born (if this egg is true). But the minerals can be real, and not necessarily quartz in this area. The egg looks so well preserved :zzzzscratchchin:

Coco

----------------------
OUTIL POUR MESURER VOS FOSSILES : ici

Ma bibliothèque PDF 1 (Poissons et sélaciens récents & fossiles) : ici
Ma bibliothèque PDF 2 (Animaux vivants - sans poissons ni sélaciens) : ici
Mâchoires sélaciennes récentes : ici
Hétérodontiques et sélaciens : ici
Oeufs sélaciens récents : ici
Otolithes de poissons récents ! ici

Un Greg...

Badges-IPFOTH.jpg.f4a8635cda47a3cc506743a8aabce700.jpg Badges-MOTM.jpg.461001e1a9db5dc29ca1c07a041a1a86.jpg

Looks too good to be authentic.  The matrix does not appear real too consistent texture with the added grooves trying to simulated being prepped.  I've seen other dino eggs with crystals but none being this fine.   The opening is also questionable, again the ones I've see where either broken in a irregular fashion or had a very large opening.

Edited by TyBoy
  • I Agree 1

It seems unnatural in several aspects, including the even matrix base with a color I have not seen. My guess, it is a hollow, cast piece with "grown" crystals; like a 3rd grade science project.  

• I Agree 2