Ammonites, echinoids, and an oyster from Fort Worth formation

Shaun-DFW Fossils

Since we had a little rain for the first time in months in Tarrant and Johnson counties in Texas, I’ve been revisiting my usual spots to see what’s new. In this case, I went a bit deeper into unexplored areas of a local creek bed. I was not disappointed! I’m not an expert on identification, so some of you can help me learn, but mostly I found mortoniceras ammonites and a few nice sized macraster echinoids. I’m just now learning how to professionally clean them up thanks to a very kind friend named Mercer, so that’s the next step with this group of ammos. Probably my best *quality* haul since I started hunting late 2022. The single photo is the ammonite on the lower right of the zoomed out group photo, for size comparison. The top left specimen is a huge oyster. 

AA84E123-8220-42D1-B5AE-E1D86E054EDB.jpeg

057F4EE3-EB51-4C37-AD4C-A14E7FC58046.jpeg

• I found this Informative 1
  • Enjoyed 9

7 hours ago, Ludwigia said:

Well done. Great haul! And welcome to the forum!

Thank you Ludwigia! I also play drums, my favorite kit is the Ludwig Maple Classic..your name reminded me  :)

5 hours ago, Tidgy's Dad said:

Nice lot of ammonites.

Thanks for sharing. :)

Thank you! I love the profile pic, very lively tortoise lol

• Enjoyed 1

6 minutes ago, Shaun-DFW Fossils said:

Thank you! I love the profile pic, very lively tortoise lol

It's a gif of my little girl and laboratory assistant, Tidgy.

Fossils3.thumb.jpg.3b8dc2e6b6b65053d7393823f5e45ecf.jpg

• Enjoyed 1

Life's Good!

Tortoise Friend.

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png.a47e14d65deb3f8b242019b3a81d8160-1.png.60b8b8c07f6fa194511f8b7cfb7cc190.png

Nice haul, Shaun! If you ever get down to the Elkhart area, the Trinity River banks are loaded with big boy Ammonites. I was there for Gar fishing so no Ammos for me then. 

Steve.. former Texan from Mineral Wells.

• Thank You 1

1 hour ago, SPrice said: