Eldredgeops vs. Viaphacops

ScottBlooded

So I’ve been digging in the Needmore formation for a few years now and, as an amateur, am always finding out that I call things the wrong name. I’m always trying to correct this but darned if you paleontologists don’t switch up the names all the time, I suspect to trip me up personally (joke).

The most abundant trilobite I find out there is what I was originally calling Phacops rana, because that’s what the first searches on the area were telling me. On this site, it was pointed out to me very early on that this was outdated info and that the new designation was Eldredgeops rana. All good, this was the last on that for a long time until I posted a photo to social media I identified as an Eldredgeops and had none other than THE Niles Eldredge comment telling me that this formation would be too early for Eldredgeops and what I’ve got on my hands are, in fact, Viaphacops.

As the bug has his name on it I’m inclined to believe him but now I’m torn because I’ve now seen a lot of other professionals, both here and other places, refer to Eldredgeops as being found in the Needmore.

This is of course a really pedantic triviality for an amateur like myself but there’s something wrong with my brain and I just need a definitive answer, then you guys aren’t allowed to change the name ever again. I see the dudes too often to not know what to call them.

Thanks as always!

• Enjoyed 2

Nomenclature is a matter of opinion, so it depends on individuals and may change over time. If one could analyze the genetic material of fossils, it would be easier to determine relationships.

Be not ashamed of mistakes and thus make them crimes (Confucius, 551 BC - 479 BC).