First Post! - Californian Anomalocaris

Sarcopterygiianson

Hello! This is my first post. I'm happy to meet you all!

I currently have a very modest fossil collection, but have been keeping my eyes peeled for some specimens that I was really excited about.

I came across this fossil, which I was considering adding to my collection. It is described as a 200g fossil of a 60mm Anomalocaris appendage next to a small brachiopod. It was found in the Latham Shale in the Marble Mountains of California, and it's indicated that finding these is a very uncommon occurrence.

I was wondering if anyone here might have insight as to if it's real, fake, or restored in any way.

Thanks!

2.png

1.png

Worth noting that I also found this thread for a very similar topic when searching. I was thinking the discussion there might be useful.

Hello, and welcome to the forum! Sorry I can't help with your question as I am not experienced with these particular type of fossils. 

Hopefully someone will be along that can help.

Dipleurawhisperer5.jpg          MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png

I like Trilo-butts and I cannot lie.

I appreciate the warm welcome and the insight! I was thinking that it's possible that it's fake as well, but I'm definitely not sure by any means.

I was having a somewhat hard time finding fossils that looked similar. The great majority of other radiodont fossils that I've found pictures of appear to have visible auxiliary spines, and alternating long and short endite lengths, which seems like it could be a red flag?

20191213_Radiodonta_frontal_appendage_An

Image credit: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:20191213_Radiodonta_frontal_appendage_Anomalocarididae_Amplectobeluidae.png

image.png.fae728d34bab10d6bcc2d5b4efc7c52f.png

Image credit: https://www.eurekalert.org/multimedia/990570

More pictures: https://burgess-shale.rom.on.ca/fossils/anomalocaris-canadensis/

Edited by Sarcopterygiianson