My first trilobite find & prep!

Jaybot

Well, after a year of searching, I finally found my first trilobite!  They are relatively rare in my area (KC), so I’m pretty ecstatic.  Decided to take this prep nice and slow, here’s the bug how I found it:

IMG_6470.thumb.jpeg.d43da00f1032b0919d990ae90f02c44d.jpegIMG_6471.thumb.jpeg.23039fa449a3d0ad07175f5d620b171b.jpeg

Rock is thankfully not really sticky, was able to spend 40 min on this yesterday: 

IMG_6472.thumb.jpeg.ee6db762b47a6984b1a4f1a2b1c01b79.jpegIMG_6473.thumb.jpeg.84ff70d39e41e95c850b0d2afbac5f4e.jpegIMG_6474.thumb.jpeg.db24bc98afea9d7e58f3441b63e967c5.jpeg

As you can see in the last photo, I used my chisel tip to scribe excess material from above where the head might be.  I took it down as far as I was brave enough to do so, because I’m worried that the head might be curved upward.  I’m no trilobite expert, so any premature guesses on the species?  Update possibly coming tonight.  Have a great weekend everyone!

-Jay

• Enjoyed 5

-Jay

''...science is eminently perfectible, and that each theory has constantly to give way to a fresh one.''

-Journey to the Center of the Earth, Jules Verne

Congrats on the find, Jay! Excellent start to your first prep! :thumbsu:

• Thank You 1

The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.  -Neil deGrasse Tyson

Everyone you will ever meet knows something you don't. -Bill Nye (The Science Guy)

4 hours ago, piranha said:

We can extrapolate the greater number of pygidial ribs: Ameura missouriensis happy0144.gif

Ah that's it.  Thank you!

4 hours ago, A.C. said:

Congratulations!

48 minutes ago, Tidgy's Dad said:

Congrats.gif.e251944ef3ca1c395a0a0e8f4f3b729b.gif

19 minutes ago, FossilNerd said:

Congrats on the find, Jay! Excellent start to your first prep! :thumbsu:

I appreciate the kind comments everyone!