Allocrioceras reconstruction

Jared C

Recently, while exploring the upper unit of the lower eagle ford formation (late cenomanian), I found a sandstone slab riddled with impressions of the charismatic Allocrioceras, potentially A. hazzardi or A. annulatum (I'm trending to the latter). 

IMG_0583.thumb.JPG.ba143570ce9381ee999e77559320e16a.JPG

Despite their usefulness as index fossils (A. hazzardi in west Texas indicates the lower Boquillas fm), sought after status, and amazing specimens like a Cenomanian A. annulatum found with gut contents, no life reconstructions exist of this genus online. So, I thought I'd give it an effort and reconstruct it myself. This is my first time attempting paleoart since elementary school so despite the many errors I notice now, I'm actually pretty pleased with it. 

IMG_0574.thumb.JPG.711015740145e13989a9b7a992b440da.JPG

IMG_0570.thumb.PNG.87ed05c2669b46ccfc6a3df029dd9487.PNG

I have several finds that no paleoart exists for that I'm keen to try reconstructions on now too. Next in queue is probably the enigmatic fish Hadrodus, and I'd love to do a cretaceous sea floor scene with Stereocidaris in it, particularly the Austin Chalk specimens I found - matching the background ammonite, fish, and reptile fauna. I'd also love to reconstruct the new mosasaur my brother and I found, but for the description paper an actual artist will be called in. 

Edited by Jared C
  • I found this Informative 2
  • Enjoyed 15

“Not only is the universe stranger than we think, it is stranger than we can think” -Werner Heisenberg 

So cool! Now I'm gonna need you to do every Cretaceous shark...

• Enjoyed 2

Nice work. :)

But it seems to have eaten all the comatulids, the greedy ammonite.

• Enjoyed 2

Life's Good!

Tortoise Friend.

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png.a47e14d65deb3f8b242019b3a81d8160-1.png.60b8b8c07f6fa194511f8b7cfb7cc190.png

11 hours ago, Mikrogeophagus said:

So cool! Now I'm gonna need you to do every Cretaceous shark...