Fossil from the Northeastern side of Lake Michigan

Windwalker

Hello,

I am new to fossil hunting and identification. I took this fossil to a mineralogical association meeting last night and no one could identify it. Hopefully someone on this forum can. It was embedded in a rock I found on the shores of the northeastern section of Lake Michigan. The other side of the rock has a brachiopod in it. I removed this from the rock using a dremel engraving tool with a small chisel attachment. That is what made the surface marks (but not the deep divots). 

Can anyone help identify this thing?

Thank you!

Windwalker

Fossil ID Request Side 6.jpg

Fossil ID Request Side 2.jpg

Fossil ID Request Side 3.jpg

Fossil ID Request Side 4.jpg

Fossil ID Request Side 5.jpg

• Enjoyed 1

Sorry - the markings on the ruler are worn off a bit. The ones closest to the fossil are centimeters.

I don't see anything that screams fossil. But I'm not the best at ID so let a few others chime in with their opinions.

Mark.

Fossil hunting is easy -- they don't run away when you shoot at them!

Ah. You mean it may be some sort of brachiopod! I think you may be right. When I look at pictures of brachiopods it seems like it could be part of one.

I am not seeing any kind of fossil here.

Having a hard time making a brachiopod out of any of those shapes.  I see one are that very vaguely resembles a spiriferid brachiopod outline.

FossilIDRequestSide2.jpg.5249c157e98733f54bfa6e6645854a5e.jpg  FossilIDRequestSide6.jpg.601bc9dc0125b59fd9be05f48d8a3cfb.jpg

FossilIDRequestSide4.jpg.1413b72717df0b36eff5f655bfa3c115.jpg  FossilIDRequestSide5.jpg.0177ea76a1f11a8b050704d0c0058d03.jpg

FossilIDRequestSide3.jpg.f394844a6a8a3a16a1028e5ed6ca0c68.jpg

Could also  just be a different mineral inclusion.

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER