Can I prep Moroccan Trilobites?

MrBones

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if it would be possible to prep Moroccan trilobites with my dremel 290 and ZoicPaleotech bits (and get decent results). I've been wanting to buy some unprepared specimens, but am unsure if I'd be able to do anything to them. Is there any particular matrixes or species you'd recommend? also, where would one aquire affordable, unprepared specimens? I'm not an expert fossil-prepper by any means (as you can tell by my current tools).

Thanks in advance.

I don't think the Dremel is sturdy enough to use on Moroccan trilos.

The matrix is notoriously hard, and difficult to prepare without professional level tools, but, I would wait for some other opinions.

@Kane 

• I Agree 3

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

I have never tried one, but they are in very hard rock.  I suspect they need some serious tools and skills.  

I see. Eventually I will upgrade my tools, maybe I can give it a shot then.

Thanks for the responses.

Utah trilobites would prep out easily with a Dremel engraver with the Zoic tips. The shale flakes off nicely and when close to the specimen you would turn the setting down to 1.  The bugs also have a notorious habit of jumping out of the matrix ...even if you stare at it too hard. 

Just passing this along in case you want to prep 'easy' matrix before tackling the hard stuff. 

The Dremel would take a long time on hard matrix... don't ask me how I know 

• I found this Informative 4

On 3/29/2024 at 5:41 PM, SPrice said:

Utah trilobites would prep out easily with a Dremel engraver with the Zoic tips.