Ammonite ID help

distant_smile

• New Members

Hi all. Both ammonites found in Bristol, UK, BS31, as we're the shells and coral. Not much else to say but would be nice to get a bit more info from the pros?

20240414_214629.jpg

20240414_214800.jpg

20240414_214828.jpg

20240415_161127.jpg

20240415_161144.jpg

20240415_161212.jpg

20240415_161230.jpg

20240415_161321.jpg

Since the ammonite bits are only partials, it would be necessary to know the precise stratigraphy, since many different ammonite species have similar structures. However if the finds were made in the Early Jurassic (Lias), then I could hazard the guess that the first one could be part of the outer whorls of an Arietites. It could also help in identifying the coral, and although I'm no expert on that subject, I do know that these are more difficult to id and often a very close examination of the internal structure is necessary, sometimes even by sectioning. The bivalve is poorly preserved and difficult for me to determine, although maybe someone more familiar with this area has an idea?

Greetings from the Lake of Constance. Roger

http://www.steinkern.de/

• New Members

Thank-you Ludwigia your comments are very much appreciated. I hoped the size of the large ammonite may narrow it down as in the past I've only found small ones...but I think I also knew it was a long shot due to the degredation

• I found this Informative 1

Hi, I'm quite familiar with the fossils that are commonly found on the Somerset coast, which I believe to be the same formation (blue lias), and therefore of similar age, as the Jurassic rocks that underly parts of Bristol and the surrounding areas.