Slow Walker

Posted (edited)

Found a poorly fossilized complete skull in Pierre shale in western SD. Looks like mosasaur or alligator shaped. 

Can anyone help me ID the species type? The teeth are from the front of mouth. 

EDIT: The skull is 2ft long. Teeth are 1in long. The skull was in a jacket that I mostly removed along with most of the shale. What you see is the fossil.  Since it is poorly fossilized I don't think there is any ID features from the skull other than teeth. 

20240430_184055.jpg

20240430_184107.jpg

20240430_184033.jpg

20240430_184043.jpg

20240430_184201.jpg

20240430_184127.jpg

20240430_184136.jpg

20240430_184858.png

20240430_184602.jpg

Edited by Slow Walker
  • Enjoyed 2

Mosasaur?  I'm no expert, but they are known from Pierre shale.

• I found this Informative 1
  • I Agree 3

-Jay

''...science is eminently perfectible, and that each theory has constantly to give way to a fresh one.''

-Journey to the Center of the Earth, Jules Verne

Posted (edited)

It really might be a mosasaur skull

Great find :dinothumb:

Edited by Brevicollis
  • Thank You 1

I like fossils...

Thats all I have to say.

@Brevicollis again, I'm not an expert, but I did find this paper just now:

https://bioone.org/journals/palaios/volume-32/issue-5/palo.2016.090/ANATOMICALLY-LINKED-OCCURRENCE-OF-CONCRETIONARY-PRESERVATION-OF-MOSASAURS-FROM-THE/10.2110/palo.2016.090.short

Could it be we are viewing some concretionary material, and the skull is only partially exposed (where the tooth is sticking out)?

I'm not arguing one way or the other, just a thought.

For the OP's sake, that would be awesome if there was a mosasaur snout that needs prepped out...

• I found this Informative 2
  • Thank You 1
  • I Agree 1

-Jay

''...science is eminently perfectible, and that each theory has constantly to give way to a fresh one.''

Can you please provide us with more pictures from different angles?

Its a really nice find, the symmetry, the teeth suggest it being one.