Precambian Fossils

Mofraqi

Hi everyone I'm new to the whole fossil scene and had a few questions. I'm actually in to lapidary, rock tumbling, and handmade Jewelry. Anyways I have been polishing rocks I found in a riverbed and noticed a lot of them are loaded with fossils, now the rock I'm tumbling and making cabs out of is called Chert/Flint and even Jasper my question is I read those rocks are Precambrian era rocks and are roughly 500 million to 3.5 billion years old, does this mean the fossils are that old as well? I feel so stupid that I never noticed all the little animals and bugs all over them.

The rocks are very waxy feeling and smooth with colors like white and grey and some browns and yellows and a lot are transparent (quartz type).

Does anyone know about these???

Yes, fossils are as old as the rock layer in which are found (older than the layer above; younger than the layer beneath). However, visible fossils are very rare in Precambrian rocks. Random shapes and indentations in rocks can resemble animals but lack the diagnostic structures of even the comparatively simple forms that were alive during that time. Chert, flint, and jasper are minerals. I don't think you can find fossils within them. Rarely, insects have been found within selenite crystals but they may be mere thousands of years old.

...now the rock I'm tumbling and making cabs out of is called Chert/Flint and even Jasper my question is I read those rocks are Precambrian era rocks and are roughly 500 million to 3.5 billion years old, does this mean the fossils are that old as well? I feel so stupid that I never noticed all the little animals and bugs all over them.

Does anyone know about these???