Legit Fossil Dealers

2gould

Hey guys:

I was wondering if you could tell me if there are any ways to determine whether a fossil/artifact dealer is legitimate? I stumbled across a shop last week in Boston which was displaying some fossil fish, teeth etc, and wondered if there was any way to gauge the quality of the shop. Being a newbie I don't know what to look for. Any help appreciated! Thanks

Charley

First and foremost, ask questions. A legit dealer should be able and willing to answer any questions you may have. They should also be alble to give fairly specific details as to where a fossil was found, such as age, formation, specific location etc. not just "ammonite from Madagascar" or "Moroccan shark tooth". Check the sales stock, if there are 20 trilobites all posed the same, they could be fakes. Check the items closely for obvious repairs and ask the dealer about them. As for teeth, you could take a pin and try to scratch the enamel. Real teeth won't be affected but resin replicas will scratch. Hope this helps a bit.

There's no limit to what you can accomplish when you're supposed to be doing something else

Guest N.AL.hunter

I would suggest a couple of things:

1. Do they offer a full refund if you find out that the item is not what is advertised?

2. Take a hand lens with you and look at the specimen carefully for any touch-up paint or filler. Look really hard at the contact of the fossil with the matrix.

3. Are all their specimens "100% complete and untouched, perfect" ? If so, be very careful. A good dealer will tell you what has been done to each item he is selling and to what degree.

4. Ask them questions to test their knowledge. All good dealers know their stuff.

5. Do exactly what you have done here, ask around. For example I believe that Indiana9Fossils is a good dealer and so is Stones and Bones and so is Extinctions.com. Several others are also good and other collectors can tell you if they have had good dealings with them in the past.