I Buy My Fossils On Ebay

onewing

Hi Fellas,

The background to this minor collection is that they were to be a present for someone, though the relationship ran its course leaving me with them. I was procuring somewhat valuable and interesting things to fill a small chest. For example I had rare metals, platinum bullion, gold soveriegn, nuggets, rough diamonds and other gems a button tektite ect. anything I could find that was small yet held value.

I really dont have any clue as to the authenticity of these, from memory the amber pieces were around $100 from lithuania, as was the opalised clam from Australia, the teeth may have been slightly less and the infamous chinese keichousaurus was >$100 (and from china).

Yes the keichousaurus was a ebay purchase from china, from what I've read most are fakes though personally I cant see evidence in this, though then I have no knowledge on fossils. First I thought the lines around the bones were from the water moving the sedement around the dead lizard but later I realised that it is more likely the layers of the shale as its been ground down around the fossil, is that correct?

Again I dont know how authentic the amber is, from a lithuanian seller. He had many pieces for sale most with very minor inclusions. I just bough those that had a decent sized insect, though that did cost me. What family of insects are these? I did know at the time though this was a number of years ago.

The teeth were from a US seller, supposedly its a raptor tooth and a broken larger one from a pterosaur.

The shells seem legit. The opalised clam from Australia cannot be captured in a photo it looks quite stunning in the sun and I like how unpolished it is, makes it more real. The other shell is cheap.

Anyways, thats it. Anyone have other ideas for a "treasure box" of interesting stuff? everything around coin sized.

post-5002-0-37373300-1297155013_thumb.jpg

post-5002-0-28611900-1297155074_thumb.jpg

post-5002-0-51579900-1297155117_thumb.jpg