Is There Professional Fossil Restoration?

Joshua

Hello to any and all who read this. The title pretty much sums up my question. I google'd for any such thing but found nothing promising. I'm a geology student, and thanks to the programs/trips of my university dept have had the incredible luck of finding and unearthing an incredible ammonite fossil. It's my first fossil find ever, so I guess I'm no longer a fossil hunter virgin. It went to the dept, of course, but I have been told there is a real chance that after it has been identified they may give it back to me, and if I do get it back I intend to display it with pride. I did find the stickied notes about how to restore a fossil (using an ammonite as reference, no less!) very helpful - but I don't think I have the courage to risk damaging it, my first fossil. So, does anyone here know of a company or person that can professionally restore a fossil? Thanks for your time.

welcome to the wild world of fossils.

A quick vocabulary question. When someone says Restoration in the fossil world they generally mean reconstruction of parts that are missing or broken. It may be that what you are looking for is Preparation. This is the fine art of getting the fossil out of the rock. It includes stabilizing, which is gluing things so they don't fall off... to avoid restoration.

There are a few professional prepartors on this list. I just happen to be one of them.

So what exactly do you want done to your ammonite(s)? And let's start from there. I don't promise nothing cuz I'm pretty busy, but others may also pipe in.

I hope this helps a little, and we all love pix of fossils here.

Edited by jpc

Awesome, thanks for the reply. And thanks for clarifying terminology!