Some Of My Favorite Fossils - Hanging On The Wall.

CousinLarry

I just wanted to share my small collection.. Pretty much not a day goes by when I don't just stand in front of it and stare at everything! hahaaa..

This isn't all that I have, but it is my favs. I have been collecting for a couple years.. Picked up where I left off when I was about 10 (22yrs ago!)

I put up a little display in my dining room with some of my favorite stuff:

wall.jpg

Some crinoid stems I found in Pulaski, NY

crinoids.jpg

This is Jianghanichthys from China, next to it NJ Cretaceous period amber with some bugs - an ant and what looks like a Mosquito.

fishandamber.jpg

amber.jpg

Garnet I found in CT at an old garnet mine

garnet.jpg

Some Herkimer Diamonds found in Herkimer NY. I swung a 10lb sledge for four hours for that tiny guy in the matrix (dolomitic limestone) - while my wifey was banging a little hammer and digging in the dirt found that monster! haha

herkimers.jpg

Some Trilobites - the one on the left is a head molt. I found it in Little Falls, NY. On the right is a Moroccan one that I purchased.

trilobites.jpg

Some chompers! - On the left is Otodus Obliquus tooth from Morocco. In the matrix is also a big fish jaw fragment and some other small stuff. On the right is a meg tooth. Right in front of that is one of my favs and newest - a jaw portion from a Ischyromys - a prehistoric rodent similar to squirrel. Oligocene, from Nebraska.

teeth.jpg

And the Ischyromys again:

ischyromis_jaw.jpg

I hope to add an Indian artifact or two to my collection at some point! Get it, point? hahaa... I just kinda caught the bug after doing a lot of reading on artifacts. From what I hear, CT has some good spots to find them.. Gotta get hunting!

Good stuff :)! Your pieces of NJ amber are huge!

Got a little NC Outer Banks thing going too?

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant