Northeast Field Trip For Students?

NHJeff

Hi everyone,

So I am a high school English teacher, but each year between semesters, we get this period of 3 days where we can teach a class on basically anything we'd like. Many teachers arrange trips and teach about things they are passionate about. I was considering the possibility of putting together a paleontology field trip. I was wondering if anybody had any advice. We would leave out of Bedford, NH (next to Manchester). We would have access to busses and suplies.

Does anyone know of a place that I could take 15-25 kids on a dig and get some good results? Perhaps somewhere with a field guide? I'd love to go to a place that could yield some good results. I was thinking maybe the Great Lakes? Does anyone have any suggestions for who I could talk to?

Thanks!

-Jeff

Agreed. Excellent place with a guarantee of finding fossils.

It's kind of a haul from NH! You're talking 9-10 hour trip. Plus a small fortune in tolls!:blink:

Penn Dixie link

The Docents are knowledgeable and helpful.

Or you could go unguided to St.Clair PA. Again, a 7 hour trip at least, with no guide.

Rickard Hill Rd. In Schoharie NY may be worth a try - guaranteed fossils, and a little closer than Penn Dixie.

No Guide, but I have a field guide that I could send you. Also only 4.5 hour trip!

Rickard Hill RD Link.

The alternative would be to get some fossil gravel from somewhere Online - if you google fossil gravel, there are a few places that offer it - you could look for fossils in the classroom. :)

Best of luck, Jeff.

Regards,

Edited by Fossildude19

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me