Arizona Shell On Camelback Mountain

Scarab

Hey guys i could only take a picture,i had no tools on me.This was about 1,000 feet up on Camelback Mountain which is in the middle of Phoenix in Arizona.Wish i had more to post but i am a newbie and have yet ever find a fossil to bring home! :(

post-6814-0-87131200-1316306495_thumb.jpg

Edited by Scarab

Cool! Looks like a high-spired gastropod of some kind.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

I spent the warmest winter of my life in Phoenix back in the early 90's. A friend and I used to hike up camelback mountain all the time and catch chuckwallas.

(Sorry I can't help with an ID)

Ramo

For one species to mourn the death of another is a new thing under the sun.
-Aldo Leopold

I spent the warmest winter of my life in Phoenix back in the early 90's. A friend and I used to hike up camelback mountain all the time and catch chuckwallas.

(Sorry I can't help with an ID)

Ramo

Haha ya there alot of those guys up there i love lizards!! I can ID any lizard! :D Thanks guys glad to share!

As a kid I used to rock-climb Camelback.. before it had houses all around it. I particularly like climbing 'The Monk'.. anyway, I used to see fossils occasionally in the conglomerates that form the mountain. You can finf a LOT up in the North Kaibab but it's a LONG drive.

Welcome to the Forum!

~Mike (formerly of Phoenix)

All your fossils are belong to us

• 4 months later...

Part of Camelback Mountain is a Tertiary conglomerate-- so maybe a fossil from an older time that was washed out in a delta, then compressed with other rocks to form the conglomerate during the Tertiary.